Do I Qualify?

To qualify for DCHFA’s programs, there are certain requirements that must be met. Below is an overview of those requirements for each program:

DC Open Doors

In order to qualify for DC Open Doors, you must meet the minimum requirements below:

Borrower Qualifications

  • Borrower does not need to be a first-time homebuyer (cannot own any other property at time of settlement)
  • Borrower income may not exceed $199,200 (not based upon household income)
  • Minimum Credit Score of 640

Property Qualifications

  • Single Family Detached, Attached (town house/row house), Condominium and 2-4 Unit
  • Coops not allowed
dc open doors



  • Must be a first time homebuyer, having had no ownership interest in a primary residence during the most recent three year period and no ownership interest in any property of any type at the time of settlement.
  • At least one borrower must be a current full-time District Government employee, including employees of District Government-based Instrumentalities, Independent Agencies, District of Columbia Public Charter Schools, and Organizations, provided the applicant/borrower’s employer falls under the oversight of the Council of the District of Columbia.  (added hyperlink of the agency list

Program Requirements:

  • Maximum household income may not exceed 120 percent Area Median Income (AMI) as published by DCHFA
  • Loan amount may not exceed $726,200
  • Sales price may not exceed $565,300
  • Borrower must have a minimum credit score of 640
  • Borrower may not have a Debt to Income ratio that exceeds 50 percent
  • At least one borrower must take a Homebuyer Education Class

Home Purchase Assistance Program (HPAP)

In order to qualify for HPAP, you must meet the requirements below:

  • Applicant(s) must be a first-time homebuyer (may not have had an ownership interest in a primary residence within the three years prior to application).
  • Household income must be within the very low-to-moderate income level, based on DHCD’s standards.
  • The home being purchased must be for the borrower’s primary residence and must be located within the District of Columbia.
  • Possess a good credit rating.

Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC)

In order to qualify for the MCC, you must meet the minimum requirements below:

Borrower Qualifications

  • Borrower must be a first-time homebuyer
    • May not have had an ownership interest in a primary residence during the past 3 years
      • Exception for residences purchased in Targeted Area or Veteran’s utilizing a one-time exception
  • Income limits and maximum sales price varies based upon household size and location of property
  • Must include household income in maximum income limits (see additional resources for more information)

Additional Resources

Property Qualifications

  • Single Family residences only to include detached homes, townhomes and condominiums (no 2-4 units or coops – see additional resources for more information)
  • Located within the District of Columbia



Qualified homeowners are persons who are at risk of foreclosure, meaning:

  • The reverse mortgage lender has issued a legal notice that the homeowner is in default due to failure to pay property taxes or insurance premiums
  • The homeowners and reverse mortgage lenders entered an agreement to pay past due balances, but the homeowner has demonstrated difficulty in doing so

Borrower Qualifications:

  • Must be a District resident/homeowner
  • Residence must be secured by a Reverse Mortgage in borrower’s name
  • Subject property must be primary residence located in the District
  • Have an annual income to not exceed $77,540 (subject to change)
  • Be “at risk” of foreclosure due to unpaid property taxes/homeowner’s insurance
  • Must demonstrate ability to sustain future tax and insurance payments, as required


There are two parts of the HomeSaver Program – the Mortgage Assistance Program and the Restore Assistance Program. To learn more about the eligibility requirements of either, please visit the HomeSaver Page.

Find a Lender

If you want to begin the process of buying a home, you will need to work with a Lender. DCHFA has a list of approved lenders that can guide you through one of the various homebuying programs we offer. Click below to see the list of participating lenders.

Translate »